Visual Studio 2010 – error: Unable to open the Web site

I was setting up Visual Studio 2010 to hook up with an existing .NET project that existed in source control.  When I tried to open the solution file in VS 2010, I received the following error (My .sln file exists in D:\data\AppName directory):

D:\data\Static\website : error  : Unable to open the Web site 'D:\data\AppName\website'.  The Web site 'D:\data\AppName\website' does not exist.

In this case, the “website” directory is a project with Javascript, CSS and images.  It is not a .NET project.

After searching and searching, I finally found a suggestion that I needed to delete the .suo file in the same directory as my solution file (.sln file), which I did  Then I re-opened the solution in VS 2010 and the path was resolved correctly to the Web site project.

The error was even more confusing as the path D:\data\Static\website is correct.  I still don’t know why VS 2010 was trying to find it in D:\data\AppName\website.  But deleting the .suo file worked and I am moving forward now!

About stevewall123

I am a Lead Software Engineer in Minneapolis working for Thomson Reuters. I am currently working on projects using Java, JavaScript, Spring, Drools, Hazelcast, Liquibase and Tomcat. Previously, I used C#, GWT, Grails, Groovy, JMS and JBoss Drools Guvnor. In the past I have worked on projects using J2EE, Swing, Webwork, Hibernate, Spring, Spring-WS, JMS, JUnit and Ant.
This entry was posted in Visual Studio and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Visual Studio 2010 – error: Unable to open the Web site

  1. Your mode of describing the whole thing in this piece of writing is really nice,
    all be able to without difficulty understand it, Thanks a
    lot.

  2. Prasad says:

    simple thing first,
    simply remove project from solution which is not available
    & then add it in solution agin

Leave a Reply

