How to see system properties used in the JVM

Today I needed to look into a production issue and I needed to see the values “inside” the JVM of system properties.  Thankfully, the JDK (I am using JDK 1.6) ships with the jinfo utility, which will list out all system properties and VM flags.  All I needed was the Process ID.  So for example, if my process ID is 12345, I ran this command:

./jinfo 12345

(FYI:  I am running on Linux.)

About stevewall123

I am a Lead Software Engineer in Minneapolis working for Thomson Reuters. I am currently working on projects using Java, JavaScript, Spring, Drools, Hazelcast, Liquibase and Tomcat. Previously, I used C#, GWT, Grails, Groovy, JMS and JBoss Drools Guvnor. In the past I have worked on projects using J2EE, Swing, Webwork, Hibernate, Spring, Spring-WS, JMS, JUnit and Ant.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

