Fixing com.ibm.mq.MQException: MQJE001: Completion Code 2, Reason 2016

I was setting up my application to work with MQ but I was not getting the expected behavior.  In the logs, I found this error:

07 Jun 2012 15:21:46,231 WARN DefaultMessageListenerContainer:834 - Setup of JMS message listener invoker failed for destination 'java:comp/env/jms/TESTRequest1Queue' - trying to recover. Cause: MQJMS2002: failed to get message from MQ queue; nested exception is com.ibm.mq.MQException: MQJE001: Completion Code 2, Reason 2016
07 Jun 2012 15:21:46,238 INFO DefaultMessageListenerContainer:875 - Successfully refreshed JMS Connection
07 Jun 2012 15:21:46,240 DEBUG JndiTemplate:150 - Looking up JNDI object with name [java:comp/env/jms/TESTRequest1Queue]
07 Jun 2012 15:21:46,240 DEBUG JndiDestinationResolver:111 - Located object with JNDI name [java:comp/env/jms/TESTRequest1Queue]

After double and triple checking my JMS connection factory properties (e.g. host, port, queue manager) and queue name were correct, I discovered the problem was the queue was GET inhibited.

I removed the GET inhibit on the queue and the error went away and my application began to work as expected.

About stevewall123

I am a Lead Software Engineer in Minneapolis working for Thomson Reuters. I am currently working on projects using Java, JavaScript, Spring, Drools, Hazelcast, Liquibase and Tomcat. Previously, I used C#, GWT, Grails, Groovy, JMS and JBoss Drools Guvnor. In the past I have worked on projects using J2EE, Swing, Webwork, Hibernate, Spring, Spring-WS, JMS, JUnit and Ant.
This entry was posted in JMS, WebSphere MQ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fixing com.ibm.mq.MQException: MQJE001: Completion Code 2, Reason 2016

  1. Vijay Bandari says:

    wow… it saved my time 🙂

Leave a Reply

