GWT Error – Have you forgotten to annotate your event handler with @Presenter or @EventHandler?

In developing my GWT application today, I encountered this error:

Have you forgotten to annotate your event handler with @Presenter or @EventHandler?

This one was a struggle to track down.  In fact, the actual problem did not seem related to the error message at all.  The problem was I was using a Java SDK class in my GWT client code that was not approved.  In my case, I was trying to use java.util.Calendar.  Once I removed the usage of that class, I was back on track.

About stevewall123

I am a Lead Software Engineer in Minneapolis working for Thomson Reuters. I am currently working on projects using Java, JavaScript, Spring, Drools, Hazelcast, Liquibase and Tomcat. Previously, I used C#, GWT, Grails, Groovy, JMS and JBoss Drools Guvnor. In the past I have worked on projects using J2EE, Swing, Webwork, Hibernate, Spring, Spring-WS, JMS, JUnit and Ant.
This entry was posted in GWT, Mvp4g, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GWT Error – Have you forgotten to annotate your event handler with @Presenter or @EventHandler?

  1. tomiito says:

    Wonderful. I had the same issue but i’m using objectify and i just forget to inherits the objectify module. But the error was the same.
    Thanks.

  2. I just ran into a seriously weird version of this problem. I had changed some javascript overlay types to implement an interface in the exact same way as described on this page: https://developers.google.com/web-toolkit/doc/latest/DevGuideCodingBasicsOverlay#javascript-objects

    The addition of the “implements interfaceName” made MVP4G mess up in the rebinding stage.

Leave a Reply

